Tennessee Regional ITS Architectures and Deployment Plans


Johnson City


Program Overview – Tennessee Statewide and Regional ITS Architectures

An intelligent transportation system (ITS) architecture is a high level plan for how ITS can be used to address transportation needs in a State or Region.  An ITS architecture is required by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Federal Transit Administration (FTA) in order to use federal transportation funding on ITS projects.  There are three key steps to developing a regional ITS architecture:

  • Step 1 – Identify Needs and ITS Inventory
    Stakeholder needs as well as existing and planned ITS elements are identified and documented.
  • Step 2 – Develop ITS Service Packages
    ITS service packages represent the services that ITS can provide to address one or more needs in a Region.  Service packages also show how that service will be operated and the data flows that will occur between agencies.
  • Step 3 – Identify Sequence of ITS Projects to Deploy in the Region
    The ITS deployment plan developed for each Region identifies the projects that stakeholders recommended for deployment in order to implement the ITS services identified in the service packages.

ITS Architecture Status

The status of each of the ITS architectures found on this website is shown below.  Use the links in the navigation bar to the left to move between regions and view the associated reports, workshop minutes, and other documentation.

Statewide ITS Architecture – Completed October 2006

Regional ITS Architectures

  • Bristol – Completed June 2008
  • Chattanooga – Completed April 2014
  • Clarksville – Completed February 2015
  • Cleveland – Completed June 2008
  • Jackson – Completed March 2015
  • Johnson City – Completed March 2015
  • Kingsport – Completed June 2008
  • Knoxville – Completed December 2012
  • Lakeway – Completed February 2009
  • Memphis Urban Area – Completed October 2014
  • Nashville Area – Completed June 2010


Program Contacts